SOFI VAN SALTBOMMEL. GROTESQUES ET TOILETTES

From 21 April to 29 September 2019, hybrid forms created by Belgian artist Sofi van Saltbommel are invading all four corners of Keramis.

Grotesques et Toilettes (Grotesqueries and Dress) is taking over the whole of Keramis. Without being a retrospective, the exhibition presents a large selection of Sofi van Saltbommel’s work: ceramic jugs and masks, kings and jesters in all their finery, dolls and fetishes in dazzling colours…

Grotesqueries stands for ridicule and extravagance, but also the wonderful and magnificent found in hybrid and deformed ceramic figures with morphological exaggerations dreamt up by the artist. Dress represents the clothing and jewellery creations. Quite often, both are combined in the same work.

The bottle kilns are inhabited by dolls and porcelain in courtly scenes in which the artist has staged an intervention. In the contemporary gallery, a large anthropomorphic vase enters into dialogue with pieces by Johan Creten and Carmen Dionyse, while in the gallery known as the large nave, 14 ceramic masks adorned in fabric face one another.

Sofi van Saltbommel evokes the hybrid and the strange in her creations. Her work draws inspiration from the very origins of the pagan carnival: a place where people can make themselves up, metamorphose and express themselves in a strictly organised world.

To mark her appearance at Keramis, the artist has also produced two sculptures in situ that can be viewed in the small nave.

Sofi van Saltbommel’s work in the exhibition continuously oscillates between the serious and the comical, the savage and the refined.

Keramis - Centre de la Céramique

de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles (asbl)

1 Place des Fours-Bouteilles

7100 La Louvière, Belgique

GPS : encode "Rue des Émailleurs"

tue 9am-5pm

wed-sun 10am-6pm

info@keramis.be

0032 64 23 60 70

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle

© 2020 Keramis.

Logo_FWB_Verti_Quadri copie.jpg
wallonie_v.png
LOGO GRIS.jpg
PARCMUSEUM
LA_Louvière.png
MPM_logo_RGB_POS_groen2_300x300.png

Avertissement : Le contenu de ce site Internet est protégé par le droit d'auteur. Toute reproduction est interdite. / Warning: The content of this web site is copyrighted. Any reproduction is strictly forbidden.

Keramis - Centre de la Céramique

de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles

1 Place des Fours-Bouteilles

7100 La Louvière, Belgique

ma 9-17h

me-di 10-18h

info@keramis.be

0032 64 23 60 70

© 2019 Keramis.

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
Logo_FWB_Verti_Quadri copie.jpg
wallonie_v.png
LOGO GRIS.jpg
PARCMUSEUM
LA_Louvière.png
MPM_logo_RGB_POS_groen2_300x300.png

Avertissement : Le contenu de ce site Internet est protégé par le droit d'auteur. Toute reproduction est interdite. / Warning: The content of this web site is copyrighted. Any reproduction is strictly forbidden.

SOFI VAN SALTBOMMEL. GROTESQUES ET TOILETTES

Du 21 avril au 29 septembre 2019, les formes hybrides de l'artiste belge Sofi van Saltbommel envahissent les quatre coins de Keramis.

Grotesques et Toilettes investit la totalité de Keramis. Sans être une rétrospective, l'exposition présente un large panel du travail de Sofi van Saltbommel : des verseuses et masques en céramique, des rois ou des bouffons aux belles parures, des poupées ou des fétiches aux couleurs éclatantes...

Grotesques c'est pour le ridicule, l'extravagance, mais aussi le merveilleux et le magnifique que l'on retrouve dans les figures de céramique hybrides et difformes aux exagérations morphologiques imaginées par l'artiste. Toilettes c'est pour les créations de robes et de parures. Parfois, même souvent, les deux termes se combinent dans une même œuvre.

Les fours-bouteilles sont habités par des poupées et des porcelaines de scènes courtoises sur lesquelles l’artiste est intervenue. Dans la salle contemporaine, un grand vase anthropomorphe dialogue avec les pièces de Johan Creten et de Carmen Dionyse, tandis que dans salle dite grande nef, 14 masques de céramique habillés de tissus se font face.

Dans ses créations, Sofi van Saltbommel évoque l’hybride, l’étrange. Son travail tire notamment ses sources des origines mêmes du carnaval païen : un garde-fou où l’homme peut se grimer, se métamorphoser et s’exprimer dans un monde strictement organisé.

À l'occasion de sa venue à Keramis, l’artiste a également réalisé in situ deux sculptures visibles dans la petite nef.

Le travail de Sofi van Saltbommel présenté dans l'exposition oscille sans cesse entre gravité et drôlerie, sauvagerie et raffinement.