KERAMIS OBJECTIVES

PRESERVATION

Keramis is a museum that acquires, preserves and promotes material and non-material testimonies about the activities that took place on its site, which was once home to the Boch faience factory. It promotes the cultural value of the three old bottle kilns that belonged to the Boch faience factory and are priceless remnants of industrial archaeology, and raises their profile for the purposes of tourism.

PRESTIGE

Keramis promotes the prestige of the ceramics collections it holds for Wallonia, the Wallonia-Brussels Federation and the Province de Hainaut, and adds to these collections. With the Royal Museum of Mariemont, it studies, popularises and promotes their respective collections of old and contemporary ceramics.

CREATION

Keramis is a place of art and specialist creation in the medium of ceramics. It is perceived as a means of creation and reflecting the world around us. It supports and encourages visual artists using this medium today by exhibiting and acquiring their work. Keramis ensures that knowledge about ceramics is preserved and passed on to specialists and the general public.

VALUES OF THE KERAMIS ASSOCIATION

HERITAGE VALUES

The collections form the heart of the museum’s mission. Oriented to both the past and the present, they attempt to anticipate the future and on many levels offer a vision of the world of ceramics. The specific architecture of the site, constructed around the three listed kilns, is also a heritage in itself that we must preserve and value in dialogue with other regional assets.

HUMAN VALUES

Keramis is carrying on a century and a half of history: that of faience itself, but also economic, social and cultural history. As well as its mission to protect this memory, Keramis wishes to form a community of people who are sensitive to the ethical and cultural values of the ceramics of yesterday and today, such as creative freedom, sharing and multiculturalism.

CONNECTION VALUES

Keramis is actively involved in a network of local cultural institutions, such as museums, the tourist office and arts centre, and public bodies and associations. This network connects citizens and cultural actors who share the same values.

EDUCATIONAL VALUES

Keramis has set itself the goal of developing an educational activity that is permanently connected to the world of teaching and the public.

ABOUT THE NON-PROFIT ORGANISATION (ASBL)

Founded in 2009, Keramis is a non-profit organisation that brings together public authorities (La Louvière, Province of Hainaut, Wallonia-Brussels Federation, Walloon Region) and private bodies (Boch Keramis Foundation).

The Board of Directors comprises representatives from these public authorities and specialists in visual arts. It is supported by a science committee comprised of specialists and representatives from universities.

Keramis - Centre de la Céramique de la Communauté française asbl (abbreviated Keramis asbl)

1 Place des Fours-Bouteilles

7100 La Louvière

TVA BE0812.152.294 - RPM Mons

Compte Belfius : IBAN BE35 0688 9002 4537

Keramis - Centre de la Céramique

de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles (asbl)

1 Place des Fours-Bouteilles

7100 La Louvière, Belgique

GPS : encode "Rue des Émailleurs"

tue 9am-5pm

wed-sun 10am-6pm

info@keramis.be

0032 64 23 60 70

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle

© 2020 Keramis.

Logo_FWB_Verti_Quadri copie.jpg
wallonie_v.png
LOGO GRIS.jpg
PARCMUSEUM
LA_Louvière.png
MPM_logo_RGB_POS_groen2_300x300.png

Avertissement : Le contenu de ce site Internet est protégé par le droit d'auteur. Toute reproduction est interdite. / Warning: The content of this web site is copyrighted. Any reproduction is strictly forbidden.

Keramis - Centre de la Céramique

de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles

1 Place des Fours-Bouteilles

7100 La Louvière, Belgique

ma 9-17h

me-di 10-18h

info@keramis.be

0032 64 23 60 70

© 2019 Keramis.

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
Logo_FWB_Verti_Quadri copie.jpg
wallonie_v.png
LOGO GRIS.jpg
PARCMUSEUM
LA_Louvière.png
MPM_logo_RGB_POS_groen2_300x300.png

Avertissement : Le contenu de ce site Internet est protégé par le droit d'auteur. Toute reproduction est interdite. / Warning: The content of this web site is copyrighted. Any reproduction is strictly forbidden.

OBJECTIFS DE KERAMIS

CONSERVATION

Keramis est un musée qui acquiert, préserve et valorise les témoignages matériels et immatériels de l'activité qui s'est développée jadis sur le site de la faïencerie Boch où il est implanté. Il valorise culturellement et touristiquement les trois anciens fours bouteilles de la faïencerie Boch, inestimable vestige d'archéologie industrielle.

VALORISATION

Keramis valorise et complète des collections de céramiques de la Wallonie, de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles et de la Province de Hainaut dont il est dépositaire. Il mène,  en commun avec le Musée Royal de Mariemont l'étude, la vulgarisation et la promotion de leurs collections respectives de céramiques anciennes et contemporaines.

CRÉATION

Keramis est un lieu d'art et de création spécialisé dans le médium céramique. Ce medium est perçu comme un moyen pour créer et poser un regard sur le monde. Il soutient et encourage les plasticiens qui de nos jours font usage de ce medium en les exposant et en acquérant leurs œuvres. Le Centre veille à la transmission et la préservation des savoir-faire de la céramique tant vers un public spécialisé que vers un large public.

VALEURS DE L'ASSOCIATION KERAMIS

VALEURS PATRIMONIALES

Les collections constituent le cœur de la mission muséale. À la fois orientées vers le passé et le présent, elles tentent d'anticiper le futur et d'offrir une vision plurielle du monde céramique. Par ailleurs, l'architecture particulière du site, organisée autour des trois fours classés, constitue un patrimoine en soi qu'il nous faut préserver et valoriser en dialogue avec d'autres biens régionaux.

VALEURS HUMAINES

Keramis prolonge un siècle et demi d'histoire faïencière, économique, sociale et culturelle. Outre la mission de sauvegarde de cette mémoire, Keramis souhaite rassembler une communauté sensible aux valeurs éthiques et culturelles portées par la céramique d'hier et d'aujourd'hui (liberté créatrice, partage, multiculturalité...). 

VALEURS DE CONNEXION

Keramis s'engage activement dans un réseau constitué des institutions culturelles proches (musées, maison du tourisme, centre culturel...), des pouvoirs publics et du monde associatif. Ce réseau relie entre eux citoyens et acteurs culturels qui en partagent les valeurs.

VALEURS ÉDUCATIVES

Keramis se fixe pour mission de développer une activité pédagogique en connexion permanente avec le monde de l'enseignement et son public.

L'ASBL Keramis, fondée en 2009, rassemble des acteurs publics (Ville de La Louvière, Province de Hainaut, Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles, Région wallonne) et privés (Fondation Boch Keramis).

Le CA est composé de représentants des pouvoirs public et de spécialistes en arts plastiques. Il est entouré d’un comité scientifique composé de spécialistes et de représentants des universités.